#IntDesignerChat Oct. 9 Topic: How Social Media Is Changing Our Industry

7 Oct

Social media has been a great way to get the masses fired up about design, give talented people who don’t work at magazines a voice in the industry, and allow brands to market themselves in  interesting and cool ways.  But has it all become too much?  Thanks to Twitter and Facebook and Tumblr and Instagram and Pinterest the design markets, events, and seasonal events are filled with self-promotion, proclaimed designers, and sometimes slightly shady endorsements.   Social media has made it impossible to just sit there and enjoy a  design lecture.  Today everyone is seized with the desire to tweet everything going on as it happens.  Meanwhile, everyone else is tweeting the exact same thing as we can announce to the world that we’re there.  Yet in our industry, industry shows, design centers,  showrooms, vendors, manufacturers, brands are only starting to grasp social media.

Is this all a good thing, social media?  Is it contributing to a more creative environment?  Join Interior Designer Chat on twitter @IntDesignerChat,  Tuesday Oct. 9, 2012 as we have a global discussion:  How Social Media Is Changing Our Industry.   We use the hashtag #IntDesignerChat join us every Tuesday at 6p ET, 5p CT, 3p PT, 11p GMT and Wed. 8am OZ.

 

Photo credit: www.brandingpersonality.com

 

One Response to “#IntDesignerChat Oct. 9 Topic: How Social Media Is Changing Our Industry”

  1. Miss Murals December 8, 2012 at 4:58 pm #

    I LOVE #intDesignerChat and attend as often as I can!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s